Nicolas Echavarria wins the 2021 Joey D Golf Match Play Championship
Echavarria defeated Stephen P Grant 2&1 at PGA National Estate
Thursday, October 28, 2021

WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. - #1 seed Nicolas Echavarria never looked in his rear view mirror this week as he won the 2021 Joey D Golf Match Play Championship. He faced Stephen P Grant in the finals. Echavarria took an early 1up lead but a hole out from the fairway for eagle by Grant on #9 squared the match heading to the back. Still tied through 15, Grant 3 putted from 20 feet on 16 then Echavarria hit his approach shot on the par-4 17th to gimmie range. Grant missed his birdie bid to extend the match so Echavarria won 2&1.

Match Play bracket

He earned $2,500 for the win. Grant $1,700 for the runner up finish.

Finals match

Echavarria heads to final stage of Korn Ferry Tour Q-School next week. Good luck Nicolas!

Nicolas Echavarria

A big thank you to PGA National Golf Club and it's membership for hosting and Joey D Golf for sponsoring the event.

Joey D Golf

Nicolas Echavarria set to face off against Stephen P Grant in the Finals Match


WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. - #1 seed Nicolas Echavarria continued his fine play advancing to the finals. He defeated Anthony Brodeur 2&1 in the quarterfinals with a birdie on the 17th then steamrolled 2019 Match Play finalist Blake Morris 4&2.

Stephen P Grant was granted a bye in the quarterfinals when Albin Choi experienced some neck pain while warming up and decided to withdraw with final stage of Korn Ferry Tour Q-School next week. Grant then put it on Myles Creighton in the quarters winning 7&5 to advance to Thursday morning's finals match.

The quarter final matches are set for Wednesday morning


WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. - Eight players remain after winning two matches on Tuesday. The #1 and #2 seeds Nicolas Echavarria and Myles Creighton survived and advanced and will attempt to run through their side of the bracket and meet in the finals Thursday morning.

32 players advanced through qualifying and will begin Match Play Tuesday morning


WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. - 53 players teed it up vying for one of the 32 spots in the Match Play bracket. Nicolas Echavarria eagled the final hole to take medalist honors at 6-under par 65 and will be seeded #1.

There was a 6 for 4 playoff at 1-over par 72 to determine the final 4 spots in Match Play. Matt Lashinger was eliminated with a bogey on the 1st extra hole while Josh Goldenberg was knocked out on the 4th extra hole when Brendan Peel made birdie. Peel, Evan Grenus, Stephen P Grant and Ben Albin survived the playoff and will come back tomorrow to begin Match Play.

A big thank you to Joey D Golf for sponsoring this event and adding $1k to the purse.

2021 Joey D Golf Match Play Championship

Monday's 18 hole Seeding Round will determine the 32 players that qualify for Match Play. The round of 32 begins Tuesday morning. Joey D Golf is adding $1,000 to the purse!

Event Details

Start: 10/25/2021
Rounds: 4

Players: 32
Entry: $390
Purse: $15120

Event Photos
Day 2 Pictures
Day 3 Pictures

2 and 1 - Nicolas Echavarria

PGA National - Estates
7736 Bay Hill Drive
West Palm Beach, FL  33412

(561) 627-1614

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
Final*Nicolas Echavarria 1 $2,500.00
Final*Stephen P Grant 2 $1,700.00
Semifinal*Blake MorrisT3 $1,300.00
Semifinal*Myles CreightonT3 $1,300.00
Quarterfinal*Anthony BrodeurT5 $1,000.00
Quarterfinal*Albin ChoiT5 $1,000.00
Quarterfinal*Chase KoepkaT5 $1,000.00
Quarterfinal*Marc MazzaT5 $1,000.00
Round of 16*Mike MillerT9 $400.00
Round of 16*Edward FigueroaT9 $400.00
Round of 16*Charlie DubielT9 $400.00
Round of 16*Domenico GeminianiT9 $400.00
Round of 16*Chris InghamT9 $400.00
Round of 16*Chris NidoT9 $400.00
Round of 16*Matthew MeneghettiT9 $400.00
Round of 16*Ben AlbinT9 $400.00
Round of 32*Anthony Chiarenza T17 $70.00
Round of 32*Evan Grenus T17 $70.00
Round of 32*Brendan Peel T17 $70.00
Round of 32*Mariano Medico T17 $70.00
Round of 32*John Felitto T17 $70.00
Round of 32*Matthew Hirsh T17 $70.00
Round of 32*Aaron Wilson T17 $70.00
Round of 32*Luke GraboyesT17 $70.00
Round of 32*Raoul Menard T17 $70.00
Round of 32*Peter French T17 $70.00
Round of 32*Hugo Bernard T17 $70.00
Round of 32*Brant Peaper T17 $70.00
Round of 32*Ben Silverman T17 $70.00
Round of 32*Michael Buttacavoli T17 $70.00
Round of 32*Justin Peters T17 $70.00
Round of 32*Bobby Collins T17 $70.00

© 2004-2022 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved