Brandon Smith edges Matt Springer by 1 shot
Sunny Kim wins 4th $1,000 Nationwide Bonus Contest after final round battle with Tim Turpen
Thursday, June 21, 2012

PLANTATION, Fla. – Brandon Smith of West Palm Beach edged Matt Springer of Palm City by a stroke Thursday to earn his 13th victory on the Tour, his fourth this year. Smith nipped Springer 70 to 71 on the East course at Jacaranda Golf Club. Smith had four birdies and three bogeys, Springer four birdies and four bogeys.

Tim Turpen and Sunny Kim started the round and final day of the 4th $1,000 Nationwide Monday Bonus Contest with Kim leading Turpen by 2 shots.   The format of this contest was total score for the six days, like Q-School Finals. (in this case it was only 5 rounds due to the rainout yesterday at NPB CC)

Kim's lead disappeared on the first hole when he made double bogey, and Turpen grabbed a 1 shot lead on the second hole. Sunny pulled even with a birdie on #4 and extended his lead back to 2 shots through 7 holes. Turpen eagled the par-5 ninth and birdied the par-5 11th to bring the contest back to even, then moved ahead by 1 when Kim bogeyed the 12th hole. Kim proceeded to beat Turpen by 1 shot per hole on the next four holes, and managed to hold off Turpen by 2 shots to claim the bonus. Along with Sunny Kim and Tim Turpen, Devin Kay also shot 72, and finished tied for third place.

The Golfslinger’s 60th tournament of the year drew 17 starters and returned $2,652 in prize money. It was the final event before a 17-day summer break. Play resumes July 9 at Jupiter Country Club.

There was $80 in the skins pot with 3 skins out worth $26.67 each.
7,13- Matt Springer
9- Tim Turpen (Eagle)

Event Details

Start: 6/21/2012
Rounds: 1

Players: 17
Entry: $200
Purse: $2652.01

Event Photos

70 - Brandon Smith - $1,000

Jacaranda Golf Club - East Course
9200 West Broward Boulevard
Plantation, FL  33324

(954) 472-5836

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
70Brandon Smith (a)1$1,000.00
71Matt Springer2$455.00
72Tim TurpenT3$266.67
72Sunny KimT3$266.67
72Devin KayT3$266.67
73Soo "Eric" AhnT6$110.00
73Derrick BohannonT6$110.00
73Kyle WillmannT6$110.00
74David M. SmithT9$33.50
74Andy GoldenT9$33.50
75Pat Elber11$0.00
76Andrew Mangini (a)12$0.00
79John Vion13$0.00
80Julian Gil 14$0.00
86Alan Johnson (a)15$0.00
90Mustapha Assorhani16$0.00
NCBrian Friederichs17$0.00

© 2004-2022 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved