Tim Turpen wins Playoff with Derrick Bohannon
Bohannon Leads 1K Bonus Contest 6 by 1 shot over Turpen and 2 over Matt Springer with 18 holes to play
Wednesday, August 1, 2012

WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. – Tim Turpen of Fayetteville, Tenn., and West Palm Beach parred the second hole of a playoff on the Rees Jones course at The Breakers on Wednesday to earn his 19th victory on the Golfslinger.com Tour.

Turpen outfinished Derrick Bohannon of Jensen Beach after they tied at five under par 67. They halved the first extra hole with par-4s, then Bohannon hit his drive into some bushes off the second fairway, took an unplayable lie and Turpen won with a two-putt par from 10 feet.

In regulation, Turpen had seven birdies, five on the inward nine, and two bogeys, earning $1,000 from the $3,807 purse. After nine straight pars, Bohannon birdied the same five holes on the back as Turpen – Nos. 10, 11, 14, 15 and 18 -- and did not bogey. Second among 27 starters in Golfslinger’s 70th tournament of the year, Bohannon received $575.

Derrick Bohannon now leads Web.com Monday $1,000 Bonus Contest number six by 1 shot over Tim Turpen and 2 over Matt Springer with 1 round to play. The contest concludes tomorrow at Champions Club in Stuart.

There was $100 in the skins pot with 4 skins out worth $25 each.

1-Matt Springer
2,13,17- Matt Hungerman

Event Details

Start: 8/1/2012
Rounds: 1

Players: 27
Entry: $200
Purse: $3807

Event Photos

67 - Tim Turpen - $1,000* won on second playoff hole

Breakers Rees Jones
1550 Flagler Parkway
West Palm Beach, FL  33411

(561) 653-6320

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
67Tim Turpen1$1,000.00
67Derrick Bohannon2$575.00
69Chris DamianoT3$375.00
69Matt SpringerT3$375.00
69Scott MarinoT3$375.00
70Greg DuncanT6$175.00
70Hernan ReyT6$175.00
70Willy PumarolT6$175.00
70Michael ButtacavoliT6$175.00
73Jimmy LytleT10$95.00
73Brett StegmaierT10$95.00
74Marc MazzaT12$75.00
74Dustin WallisT12$75.00
75Matt Hungerman14$67.00
77Jacob KorbT15$0.00
77Paul ScalettaT15$0.00
77Kyle SleasmanT15$0.00
77Christopher CarlinT15$0.00
78Angel Monguzzi19$0.00
79Tawit Polthai20$0.00
81Sunny Kim21$0.00
82Justin Peters22$0.00
83Kris WilcoxonT23$0.00
83Michael Ginnard (a)T23$0.00
89Dave Scarpetta25$0.00
NCTrevor SahnT26$0.00
NCTerry BurkeT26$0.00

© 2004-2024 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved