Dan McCarthy wins Playoff over Sunny Kim
Both players shot 65
Tuesday, November 6, 2012

LAKE WORTH, Fla. – Dan McCarthy of Syracuse, N.Y., beaten by Sunny Kim of Palm Beach Gardens in a playoff Monday at Hammock Creek, got his revenge Tuesday at Winston Trails. McCarthy won with a two-putt par from 20 feet on the second playoff hole after tying with Kim at seven under par 65. They halved the first extra hole with par-4s.

It was McCarthy’s seventh Golfslinger win since October, 2007, his second in his last three events. McCarthy received $1,000 from the $3,672 purse, raising his career earnings to $25,127. McCarthy has collected $2,450 in the past week. Kim beat McCarthy and Will Coleman of Kensington, Md., at Hammock Creek in Palm City with a birdie on the first playoff hole after they tied at 66. McCarthy was also the winner Nov. 2 at the Champions Club in Stuart.

In regulation, neither McCarthy nor Kim made a bogey. Five of McCarthy’s seven birdies came in a six-hole stretch starting at No. 11. Kim eagled the par-4 first hole and added five birdies to finish second among 27 starters. Both McCarthy and Kim have advanced to second stage qualifying next week for the PGA Tour in 2013.

The Golfslinger.com Tour next plays Thursday at Ocean Breeze in Boca Raton.

There was $100 in the skins pot with 9 skins out worth $11.11 each.

1(Eagle), 16- Sunny Kim
3,6,7,14- Sandro Piaget
9(Eagle) Clint Keown
13(Eagle) Caulen Coe (a)
17- Joe Frustaci

Event Details

Start: 11/6/2012
Rounds: 1

Players: 27
Entry: $200
Purse: $3672.03

Event Photos

65 - Dan McCarthy - $1,000* won on second playoff hole

Winston Trails Golf Club
6101 Winston Trails Blvd
Lake Worth, FL  33463

(561) 439-3700

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
65Dan McCarthy1$1,000.00
65Sunny Kim2$525.00
69Sandro Piaget T3$358.34
69Ben SilvermanT3$358.34
69Carl McCauleyT3$358.34
70Kris WilcoxonT6$212.50
70David M. SmithT6$212.50
71Devin Kay8$145.00
72Clint Keown (a)T9$102.50
72Caulen Coe (a)T9$102.50
73Gavin DearT11$76.67
73Landon WillettT11$76.67
73Len MattiaceT11$76.67
74Joe Frustaci14$67.00
75Greg EtimosT15$0.00
75Ron Bonatz IIIT15$0.00
75David Giandomenico (a)T15$0.00
75Danny LewisT15$0.00
76Joachim AltonenT19$0.00
76Will ColemanT19$0.00
77Rushi Oza21$0.00
78Frank Lostaglio22$0.00
79Michael Capolongo23$0.00
81William Block (a)24$0.00
82John Gerber25$0.00
90Christopher Wright (a)26$0.00
NCDerin Goodman (a)27$0.00

© 2004-2022 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved