Ben Vertz fires bogey free 64 for 1st Professional Victory
Ben blistered the back nine with 4 birdies and an eagle
Thursday, January 24, 2013

ROYAL PALM BEACH, Fla. – Ben Vertz of Coral Springs fired an eight under par 64 Thursday at the Links at Madison Green to score his first victory as a professional golfer. It was his fifth start on the Tour since Nov. 19. He earned $1,000 from the $4,597 purse. There were 35 starters.

After shooting 34 on the front nine with birdies on #2 and #3, Vertz birdied the 10th, Eagled the par-5 11th, birdied 12 and 14, the made birdie 2 on the par-3 16th hole. His bogey free 64 was one shot off the course record of Tim Tupen's 63 in a GolfSLINGER Tour event back in July of 2010.

Thomas Buran of San Francisco tied for second place with Michael Midgette from Plainview, NY at 4-under par 68. Monday's winner Ben Silverman was 4th with 69.

Golfslinger has two more tournaments this month: Monday at Hammock Creek GC, Palm City, and Thursday-Friday at the Champions Club at Summerfield in Stuart.

There was $200 in the skins pot with 6 skins out worth $33.34 each

2- Justin Bryant (Eagle)
5- Tommy McDonagh
6- Sam Boyd
14- Thomas Buran (Eagle)
16- Mitchell Gregson
18- Stephen Grant

Event Details

Start: 1/24/2013
Rounds: 1

Players: 35
Entry: $200
Purse: $4596.99

Event Photos
Video Link

64 - Ben Vertz - $1,000* first professional win

Madison Green Country Club
2001 Crestwood Blvd North
Royal Palm Beach, FL  33411

(561) 784-5225

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
64Ben Vertz1$1,000.00
68Thomas BuranT2$562.50
68Michael MidgetteT2$562.50
69Ben Silverman4$450.00
70Jeff HattenT5$300.00
70Justin Bryant T5$300.00
71Brandon Smith (a)T7$207.50
71Brad TilleyT7$207.50
72Josh HartT9$175.00
72Gabe Costa T9$175.00
73Stephen GrantT11$101.67
73Mark PurringtonT11$101.67
73Tommy McDonaghT11$101.67
74Nathan Sutherland T14$72.33
74Mitchell GregsonT14$72.33
74Stevenson Clarke (a)T14$72.33
75Collin Neeman17$68.00
76Scott MillerT18$22.33
76J.R. RepettiT18$22.33
76Carlos VelezT18$22.33
77Will ColemanT21$0.00
77Andrew StreatfeildT21$0.00
77Jeff BronkemaT21$0.00
78Eric BeringerT24$0.00
78Sam BoydT24$0.00
79Michael KartrudeT26$0.00
79Kyle O'NeillT26$0.00
80Evan BeirneT28$0.00
80Nicolo RagazziT28$0.00
80Keegan Tyers T28$0.00
80Rylan Lanham T28$0.00
83Justin Fonseca32$0.00
92Stevie Anderson33$0.00
94Kwan Woo Lee34$0.00
NCMatthew Huggins (a)35$0.00

© 2004-2023 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved