Ben Vertz shoots 67 to wins his second straight start by 2 over Bobby Bode
David Smith finished solo third at 1-under par 70, 8 players tied for 4th
Wednesday, April 3, 2013

PLANTATION, Fla. – Ben Vertz of Coral Springs won his second straight start on the Tour with a four under par 67 Wednesday at Jacaranda Golf Club. Vertz birdied the par-3 eighth and eagled the par-5 ninth to turn in 32, then made three birdies and two bogeys on the back nine of the East course to win by two shots over Bobby Bode of Fort Lauderdale, who scored 69. Bode had four birdies and two bogeys and received $615.

Vertz, 24, won on the first playoff hole last Friday at the Champions Club in Stuart but did not play Monday at Fountains CC in Lake Worth. He scored his first Golfslinger victory Jan. 24 at the Links @ Madison Green in Royal Palm Beach. Wednesday’s win was worth $825 from the $4,630 purse, raising Vertz’ earnings to $5,551.69 since he joined the Golfslinger Tour last November.

David Smith of Ruston, La., shot 35-35—70 to finish solo third, followed by 8 players tied for fourth place at 2 over par 73.

There was $120 in the skins pot with 10 skins out worth $12 each.

1- Stephen Grant
2- Christian DeGreiff
3,9(Eagle), 12- Andrew Giuliani
4,13- Anthony Gardner
6- Mike Meisenzahl
10- Joe Frustaci
18- Devin Kay

April Ft. Lauderdale Shootout

50% Payout. East Course

Event Details

Start: 4/3/2013
Rounds: 1

Players: 34
Entry: $200
Purse: $4640

Event Photos

67 - Ben Vertz - $825

Jacaranda Golf Club - East Course
9200 West Broward Boulevard
Plantation, FL  33324

(954) 472-5836

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
67Ben Vertz1$825.00
69Bobby Bode2$615.00
70David M. Smith3$550.00
73Brandon Smith (a)T4$275.00
73David SchusterT4$275.00
73Stephen GrantT4$275.00
73Nathan DavisT4$275.00
73Devin KayT4$275.00
73Carl McCauleyT4$275.00
73Maude-Aimee LeBlancT4$275.00
73Anthony GardnerT4$275.00
74Brian BartowT12$85.00
74Justin BartlettT12$85.00
74Carlos LaraT12$85.00
74Andrew GiulianiT12$85.00
75Bobby TracyT16$55.00
75Michael DavenportT16$55.00
76Michael CapolongoT18$0.00
76Piri BorjaT18$0.00
76Will ColemanT18$0.00
76Nick MartinT18$0.00
76Christian De GreiffT18$0.00
76Randolph SchaferT18$0.00
77Mike MeisenzahlT24$0.00
77Ben SilvermanT24$0.00
77Eric BeringerT24$0.00
77Joe FrustaciT24$0.00
78Julien Goulet28$0.00
79Pascal Schmalen29$0.00
81Dean Walkersmith30$0.00
82Kyle O'Neill31 $0.00
88Roan Latimer32$0.00
90Mustapha Assorhani33$0.00
NCAdrian Singh34$0.00

© 2004-2023 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved