Sal Spallone outlasts Devin Kay in a 3 hole playoff
Both players had 6 birdies and 2 bogeys
Tuesday, April 9, 2013

WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. – Sal Spallone of Vero Beach birdied the last two holes of regulation and parred three playoff holes Tuesday at Ironhorse Country Club to win on the Tour for the sixth time.

Finishing more than 30 minutes after Devin Kay of Potomac, Md., had bogeyed the 18th for 68, Spallone pulled even with birdies at 17 and 18, his fifth and sixth of the day to go with two bogeys on the first seven holes. Kay also made six birdies and two bogeys.

In the playoff, they halved the par-4 first and second holes in regulation. At the par-3 third, Kay three-putted from 30 feet, missing an six footer for par, and Spallone two-putted from 25 feet for par and the victory.

Spallone earned $800 from the $4,128 purse, raising his career earnings to $38,141 since he joined the Golfslinger Tour at the start of the 2009 season. Kay received $625. He has played regularly since July, 2010, collecting $41,701 and two titles.

Matt Springer of Palm City earned $550 and finished solo 3rd at 1-under par 71.

The 37th Golfslinger event of the year drew 32 players. The Tour’s next event is on Thursday at the Country Club of Coral Springs. This is Golfslinger’s first visit to CCCS, which opened in 1969.

There was $140 in the skins pot with 8 skins out worth $17.50 each.
2- Eric Dugas
4- Andrew Gogfrey
7- Tim Turpen
9- Jerry Tucker
11,17- Sal Spallone
12- Matt Springer
15- Ron Bonatz

Ironhorse Classic

33% Payout

Event Details

Start: 4/9/2013
Rounds: 1

Players: 32
Entry: $200
Purse: $4128

Event Photos

68 - Sal Spallone - $800* won on third playoff hole

8055 Ironhorse Blvd
West Palm Beach, FL  33412

(561) 624-5551

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
68Sal Spallone1$800.00
68Devin Kay2$625.00
71Matt Springer3$550.00
72Tim TurpenT4$475.00
72Eric DugasT4$475.00
73Michael MidgetteT6 $256.25
73Jerry TuckerT6$256.25
73Louis-Pierre GodinT6$256.25
73Kyle O'NeillT6$256.25
74Mike KartrudeT10$44.50
74Scott HawleyT10$44.50
74David GuyT10$44.50
74Megan McChrystalT10$44.50
75Andrew Godfrey (a)T14$0.00
75Jordan PomeranzT14$0.00
75Matt DubrowskiT14$0.00
75Anthony GardnerT14$0.00
75Mike MeisenzahlT14$0.00
76Ryan Franks19$0.00
77Seungha ShinT20$0.00
77Jeb BuchananT20$0.00
78Brian BartowT22$0.00
78Ron Bonatz IIIT22$0.00
78Will Maier (a)T22$0.00
78Joe FrustaciT22$0.00
79Greg Duncan26$0.00
80Michael Capolongo27$0.00
82Matt Majka28$0.00
89Josh Camitta29$0.00
94William Pugliese30$0.00
NCT.J. PatelT31$0.00
NCDerin Goodman (a)T31$0.00

© 2004-2021 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved