Charlie Winegardner birdies 4 in a row to win by 1 shot over Eric Cole
Cole shot 68 for solo 2nd, Jimmy Hazen, Whit Staples & Mark Summerville finished T3
Tuesday, January 7, 2014

JUPITER, Fla. – Charlie Winegardner of Lothan, Md., who won the final tournament of 2013 on the Tour, a team event, earned his first individual title Tuesday when he opened the 2014 season with a victory at Abacoa Golf Club.

After opening with 11 straight pars, Winegardner birdied the next four holes and the 17th for a five under par 67 to edge Eric Cole of Orlando by a shot. Cole made two birdies on each nine, Nos. 3, 9, 11 and 17, for 68. Neither player made a bogey as temperatures dipped into the 40s and 50s during the day. Winegardner received $1,125, Cole $730, from the $6,509 purse.

On Dec.19 at Martin Downs in Palm City, Winegardner and Daniel Obremski of Pittsburgh, Pa., captured the Holiday Team Championship by finishing a stroke ahead of Cole and Greg O’Mahony of Tequesta.

There were 46 starters in the first tournament of the 11th season, the 1,079th since the Tour began in August, 2004. The next event on the schedule will be Thursday on the South course at Fountains CC, Lake Worth.

Event Details

Start: 1/7/2014
Rounds: 1

Players: 46
Entry: $225
Purse: $6509.05

Event Photos

67 - Charlie Winegardner - $1,125 *First Professional Victory

Abacoa Golf Club
105 Barbados Drive
Jupiter, FL  33458

(561) 622-0036

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
67Charlie Winegardner1$1,125.00
68Eric Cole2$730.00
71Jimmy HazenT3$560.00
71Whit StaplesT3$560.00
71Mark SummervilleT3$560.00
72Jason Burstyn T6$396.67
72Jeff BronkemaT6$396.67
72Pat WilsonT6$396.67
73Ed Carnes T9$251.25
73Russell BuddT9$251.25
73Derrick BohannonT9$251.25
73Justin PetersT9$251.25
74Jimmy LytleT13$150.00
74Joshua LeeT13$150.00
74Brian FisterT13$150.00
75Matt HancockT16$54.84
75Andrew HansenT16$54.84
75Jared StegerT16$54.84
75Sunny KimT16$54.84
75Roger FurrerT16$54.84
75Greg O'MahonyT16$54.84
103Chris Benny $0.00
76Brian Hughes $0.00
76Evan Beirne $0.00
76Jon Shasha $0.00
76Keegan Tyers $0.00
77Chris Ingham $0.00
77Michael Odenthal $0.00
78Ulric Francis $0.00
79Logan Brown $0.00
79Frank Cossio $0.00
79Justin Fonseca $0.00
79Danny Forshey $0.00
80Anthony Infante $0.00
81Bobby Brady $0.00
81Marc Rouse $0.00
81Eric Beringer $0.00
81Oscar Zapata $0.00
82Mike Meisenzahl$0.00
82Jordan Elsen $0.00
83Nicolo Ragazzi $0.00
83Pascal Schmalen $0.00
84Francois Reverberi $0.00
84John Gerber $0.00
88Doug Quackenbush $0.00
NCRyan Miller $0.00

© 2004-2022 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved