Andy Golden wins playoff over Jon McLean in wet conditions
Tuesday's winner Carl McCauley tied for 2nd with Jimmy Lytle
Friday, May 16, 2014

JUPITER, Fla. – Andy Golden of Davie won a battle of Broward County players with par-4 on the first playoff hole Thursday in a Tour event at Abacoa Golf Club. He edged Jon McLean of Weston after they tied at four under par 68. It was Golden’s second Golfslinger victory following a win in June, 2012 at Indian Spring CC.

Playing late in the day, Golden survived several rains delays with an eagle, a birdie and four bogeys to turn in 37, then birdied Nos. 10, 12, 14, 15 and 17. He two-putted from 40 feet for the win, receiving $640 from the $2,808 purse, raising his career earnings to $18,671 since December, 2008.

McLean was in the first group off the tee and returned with an eagle, six birdies and four bogeys. In the playoff, he missed the first green with his second shot, chipped on and missed a 25 footer for par. He received $500. McLean has five Golfslinger titles and earnings of $25,193 since January, 2010.

There were 27 entries for Golfslinger’s 53rd tournament of the year. Next on the schedule: Monday at Jacaranda GC-East, Plantation, and a 36-hole event Wednesday and Thursday at Indian Spring CC-East, Boynton Beach.

Abacoa May Open

40% Payout

Event Details

Start: 5/15/2014
Rounds: 1

Players: 27
Entry: $160
Purse: $2808

Event Photos

68 - Andy Golden - $640* won on first playoff hole

Abacoa Golf Club
105 Barbados Drive
Jupiter, FL  33458

(561) 622-0036

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
68Andy Golden1$640.00
68Jon McLean2$500.00
69Jimmy LytleT3$350.00
69Carl McCauleyT3$350.00
70Zack Shriver5$250.00
72Clint Keown (a)6$200.00
73Jordan Elsen (a)T7$140.00
73Gregg LavoieT7$140.00
74Sunny KimT9$90.00
74Ben SilvermanT9$90.00
76Sue GinterT11$29.00
76Jared StegerT11$29.00
78Gordon Parker $0.00
80Kyle O'Neill $0.00
83Will Wood $0.00
86Caroline Culler $0.00
88Johnny Johnson $0.00
93Juan Ribero $0.00
INJBen Keith $0.00
NCBobby Bode $0.00
NCRyan Miller $0.00
NCSandro Piaget $0.00
NCJesse Larson $0.00
NCBrandon Kearney $0.00

© 2004-2024 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved