Derrick Sherard birdied 5 of last 6 holes for a 2 shot victory
Brian Fister finished solo 2nd with a 2-under par 70
Tuesday, January 27, 2015

LAKE WORTH, Fla. – Derrick Sherard of Louisville won a battle of Kentuckians on the Minor League Golf Tour Tuesday by beating Brian Fister of Lexington by two shots, 68 to 70, at Winston Trails Golf Club. Neither had won an MLGT event heretofore.

After a bogey at the par-4 second hole, Sherard, 28, rallied with five birdies on the last six holes. He received $775, raising his career MLGT earnings to $2,479.92.

Fister, 24, has collected $3,054 in MLGT play since November, 2013, including $575 for second here. His card showed an eagle at the par-5 fourth hole, a double bogey at the par-4 10th hole, three birdies and a bogey.

Presented by, the MLGT’s eighth tournament of the year drew 33 starters and returned $3,993 in prize money. Next on the schedule: Thursday at Martin Downs Country Club in Palm City.

Winston Trails Open

50% Payout.

Event Details

Start: 1/27/2015
Rounds: 1

Players: 33
Entry: $190
Purse: $3993

Event Photos

68 - Derrick Sherard - $775* First win on the MLGT

Winston Trails Golf Club
6101 Winston Trails Blvd
Lake Worth, FL  33463

(561) 439-3700

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
68Derrick Sherard1 $775.00
70Brian Fister2 $575.00
71Alvin OkadaT3 $412.50
71Carl McCauleyT3 $412.50
72Alejandro GarmendiaT5 $233.00
72Dan McCarthyT5 $233.00
72Andrew StreatfeildT5 $233.00
72David YokitisT5 $233.00
72Jin KimT5 $233.00
73Brandon Smith (a) T10 $108.75
73Brian AndersonT10 $108.75
73Jimmy Lytle T10 $108.75
73Sunny KimT10 $108.75
74Jeff BronkemaT14 $58.00
74Sang LeeT14 $58.00
75A. J. Morris T16 $51.00
75Jim Fitzpatrick T16 $51.00
76James Braunsberg $0.00
77Peter Skirpstas $0.00
77Alexander Bastidas $0.00
78Andy Golden $0.00
79Seonghyun Cho $0.00
79Gregory MacKay $0.00
79David M. Smith $0.00
79Kristian Perry (a) $0.00
80Christopher Bergman $0.00
80Scott Battiste $0.00
80Joel Gibbons $0.00
81William Pugliese $0.00
81Robert Read $0.00
85Kevin Talty $0.00
NCSteven Decker $0.00

© 2004-2024 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved