Dan McCarthy prevails in playoff for Back to Back wins
Greg Duncan makes 9 birdies in regulation but falls just short in playoff
Thursday, October 15, 2015

WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. – Dan McCarthy of Syracuse, NY, won for the second day in a row on the Minor League Golf Tour when he outlasted Greg Duncan of Edinburgh, Scotland, on the fourth hole of a playoff Thursday at Ironhorse Country Club.

After they tied at seven under par 65 on a course playing 7,043 yards, McCarthy and Duncan halved the par-4 10th hole with birdies, the par-3 11th and the par-4 12th with pars. Both missed the green off the tee at the par-3 13th. Both chipped close, Duncan missed his par putt from seven feet, then McCarthy sank his from five feet for the win.

In regulation, McCarthy turned in 35 with two birdies and a bogey, then finished with four straight birdies and an eagle at the par-5 18th hole. Duncan had nine birdies and two bogeys.

McCarthy earned $575, Duncan $460, from the $2,510 purse. On Wednesday, McCarthy was the only player to break par in his victory at Jacaranda GC in Plantation, a win worth $525. In two days, he collected $1,100 for his 34th and 35th MLGT wins since October, 2007.

The 90th tournament of the year drew 22 starters. Three 18-hole events are scheduled next week: Monday, North Palm Beach CC; Wednesday, West Palm Beach Municipal GC; and Thursday, Martin Downs CC in Palm City.

WPB Ironhorse Classic

40% Payout. 7043 Yards. Par 72

Event Details

Start: 10/15/2015
Rounds: 1

Players: 22
Entry: $170
Purse: $2510

Event Photos

65 - Dan McCarthy - $575 *Back to back wins

8055 Ironhorse Blvd
West Palm Beach, FL  33412

(561) 624-5551

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
65Dan McCarthy 1 $575.00
65Greg Duncan 2 $460.00
68Hugo Leon3 $380.00
71Tim TurpenT4 $260.00
71David M. SmithT4 $260.00
71Brandon Smith (a)T4 $260.00
72Jimmy LytleT7 $105.00
72Zac GoodmanT7 $105.00
72Steven DelaneyT7 $105.00
73Matt Genchi $0.00
74Mason Jacobs $0.00
74Brendan Lemp $0.00
74Jeb Buchanan $0.00
75Turner Southey-Gordon $0.00
76Brian Fister $0.00
76Nannette Hill $0.00
76Kristian Perry (a) $0.00
76Horacio Leon $0.00
77Kevin Jorden $0.00
80James Braunsberg $0.00
80Anthony Infante $0.00
84Michael Wolf $0.00

© 2004-2023 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved