Dan McCarthy birdies first playoff hole for his 33rd MLGT victory
Alejandro Garmendia birdied the last hole to force a playoff at 5-under par 67
Monday, September 28, 2015

WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. – Dan McCarthy of Syracuse, NY, birdied the first extra hole Monday to edge past Alejandro Garmendia of Weston, FL for his 33rd victory on the Minor League Golf Tour.

They tied at five under par 67 at the West Palm Beach Golf Club after Garmendia birdied the final hole of regulation. Playing one group earlier, McCarthy had bogied No. 18. On the first playoff hole, Garmendia’s 12-foot putt slid past the cup and McCarthy holed a 10 footer for birdie and the win.

McCarthy, whose Florida home is in nearby Palm Beach Gardens, received $675 from the $3,450 purse, raising his career earnings to $104,930.48 since October, 2007. Garmendia, second among 30 starters, has collected $25,035, including $550 Monday, and nine wins since August, 2010.

Eight players tied for 3rd place at 3-under par 69.

Next on the schedule is an 18-hole tournament at the Breakers Rees Jones course Thursday, followed by a 36-hole "Major" Oct. 5-6 at Abacoa GC with the winner guaranteed $3,000, or $6,000 if there are at least 45 entries.

WPB Classic

Payout 40%. 7002 Yards. Par 72

Event Details

Start: 9/28/2015
Rounds: 1

Players: 30
Entry: $160
Purse: $3450

Event Photos

67 - Dan McCarthy - $675 *Won with birdie on 1st playoff hole

West Palm Beach Golf Club
7001 Parker Avenue
West Palm Beach, FL  33405

(561) 822-1591

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
67*Dan McCarthy 1 $675.00
67*Alejandro Garmendia 2 $550.00
69*Carl McCauley T3 $258.75
69*Brad Adamonis T3 $258.75
69*Will Coleman T3 $258.75
69*Jimmy Lytle T3 $258.75
69*Sunny Kim T3 $258.75
69*Zac Oakley T3 $258.75
69*Jordan Elsen (a) T3 $258.75
69*Brian Fister T3 $258.75
70*Jamie Sindelar T11 $38.75
70*Brant Peaper T11 $38.75
70*Chris Deaner T11 $38.75
70*Matthew Ceravolo T11 $38.75
71*T.J. Patel $0.00
71*Olin Browne Jr. $0.00
72*Matt Dubrowski $0.00
73*Patrick Rada $0.00
73*Alex Rosen $0.00
73*Jeff Ivall $0.00
74*Greg Duncan $0.00
74*David M. Smith $0.00
74*Austin Powell (a) $0.00
75*James Braunsberg $0.00
76*Kristian Perry (a) $0.00
76*Philipp Muller $0.00
76*Jonathan Lowrey $0.00
77*Gus Abbruzzese $0.00
82*Anthony Infante $0.00
83*Ryan Miller $0.00

© 2004-2024 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved