Piri Borja birdies all three playoff holes to outlast Evan Thornton at Abacoa GC
Both men tied in regulation at 5-under par 67
Tuesday, May 28, 2019

JUPITER, Fla. - Piri Borja of Coral Springs, FL birdied the third extra hole Tuesday to win for the sixth time on the Minor League Golf Tour. After Borja and Evan Thornton of Wyomissing, PA, tied at five under par 67 at Abacoa Golf Club, they halved the par-5 10th and par-4 11th holes with birdies. They had a chance for three birdies in a row at the par-4 12th, but Thornton missed his putt from 13 feet and moments later Borja sank a 12 footer for the win. In regulation, Borja eagled the par-5 second hole and added four birdies and a bogey while Thornton made seven birdies and two bogeys. Borja earned $600, Thornton $480, from the $2,375 purse. Each received an additional $150 from an optional bonus pool.

2019 Monday Q Contest #4

Today's event was the first of three 1-day events this week that make up 2019 Monday Qualifying School Contest #4 presented by Abacoa Golf Club. Piri Borja enters the second event tomorrow at Florida Club with a one shot lead over Chris Wiatr and Chad Bricker. The player with the lowest 3-day cumulative score will win a $1,000 bonus to compete in a Monday Qualifier on the PGA or Web.com Tour.

Abacoa May Classic

50% of the field earns a check

Event Details

Start: 5/28/2019
Rounds: 1

Players: 19
Entry: $180
Purse: $2375.03

Event Photos

67 - Hernan Borja - $600 *Birdied 3rd Playoff Hole

Abacoa Golf Club
105 Barbados Drive
Jupiter, FL  33458

(561) 622-0036

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount Total
67 Piri Borja 1 $600.00$843.34
67 Evan Thornton 2 $480.00$723.34
68 Chris Wiatr T3 $330.00$380.00
68 Chad Bricker T3 $330.00$330.00
69 Eric Beringer T5 $160.00$160.00
69 Nicolas Cavero T5 $160.00$160.00
70 Dominick Vennari T7 $88.34$88.34
70 Fletcher Wunderlich T7 $88.34$88.34
70 Ben Follett-Smith T7 $88.34$88.34
71 Davey Jude T10 $16.67$16.67
71 Matt Springer T10 $16.67$16.67
71 Eric Cole T10 $16.67$16.67
73 Ricky Casko $0.00$0.00
73 Tyler Cline $0.00$0.00
73 Nathan Klatt $0.00$0.00
73 Luke Gifford $0.00$0.00
76 Ian Facey $0.00$0.00
76 Nick Content $0.00$0.00
WDIZack Shriver $0.00$0.00

© 2004-2024 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved