Brandon Smith wins playoff with Ryan Garrity to earn Victory
Mike Adamson, Vince Alessi, and Bobby Tracy tie for 3rd with 70
Thursday, May 19, 2011

WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. – Brandon Smith earned his eighth victory on the Fuzion-Minor League Golf Tour on the first playoff hole Thursday at Ironhorse Country Club. After they tied at three under par 69, Smith won when Ryan Garrity couldn’t find his ball after his tee shot at the par-4 ninth hole.

In regulation, Smith eagled the par-5 14th hole and added four birdies and three bogeys. Garrity had six birdies, a bogey and a double bogey and was second among 25 starters. Each player birdied the par-5 18th.

Smith earned $685, Garrity $500, from the $3,125 purse. It raised Smith’s earnings to $20,821.90 since he joined the MLGT in October, 2005. Two of his wins were as an amateur. He turned pro at the start of the 2010 season. Garrity, director of golf at The Dye Preserve west of Jupiter, has two career MLGT wins.

Three 18-hole tournaments are scheduled next week: Monday, Jacaranda GC, Plantation; Wednesday, Evergreen Club, Palm City; and Thursday, Fountains CC, Lake Worth.

There was $150 in the skins pot with 8 skins out worth $18.75 each.

#1 - Angel Monguzzi
#3 - John Van Wart
#5 - Ryan Miller (Eagle)
#7,#12 - Mike McMahon
#10 - Matt Hungerman
#13 - Marc Mazza
#18 - Jesse Larson (Eagle)

Event Details

Start: 5/19/2011
Rounds: 1

Players: 25
Entry: $180
Purse: $3125.02

Event Photos

69 - Brandon Smith - $685* won first playoff hole

8055 Ironhorse Blvd
West Palm Beach, FL  33412

(561) 624-5551

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
69Brandon Smith (a)1$685.00
69Ryan Garrity2$500.00
70Bobby TracyT3$325.00
70Mike AdamsonT3$325.00
70Vince AlessiT3$325.00
71David JohnsonT6$176.67
71Marc IsslerT6$176.67
71Matt HungermanT6$176.67
72Ben SilvermanT9$101.67
72Ryan LefevreT9$101.67
72Tim TurpenT9$101.67
73Ben HartmanT12$65.00
73Alex MessiquaT12$65.00
74Brian Anderson14$0.00
76John Van WartT15$0.00
76Devin KayT15$0.00
76Mike McMahonT15$0.00
76Marc MazzaT15$0.00
77Brian Foy19$0.00
78Jesse Larson20$0.00
82Mike Ranich21$0.00
85Ryan Miller22$0.00
87Ryan Howell (a)23$0.00
95Stephen Duff24$0.00
DNFAngel Monguzzi25$0.00

© 2004-2023 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved