David Johnson wins event, increases lead in Q-School Contest
With a 2-Day event and a 1-Day event left in the contest, 10 players still have a chance to win
Friday, June 17, 2011

STUART, Fla. – David Johnson of Palm Bay, beaten in a playoff two days earlier, came back Friday to earn his second victory on the Fuzion-Minor League Golf Tour. Johnson birdied three straight holes on the front nine enroute to a six under par 66 at the Champions Club at Summerfield.

Johnson earned $680 from the $2,928 purse and added to his lead in Q-School Contest Four, May 31-June 24. He moved $864 ahead of Matt Springer of Stuart for that period in which the leading money winner will have his entry fee paid into PGA Tour qualifying later this year.

In addition to birdies at the fourth, fifth and sixth holes, Johnson also birdied 8, 13 and 14. The fourth, eighth and 13th holes are par-5s. Springer, who beat Johnson on the fifth playoff hole Wednesday at the nearby Evergreen Club, shot 71 here Friday, tied for sixth among 24 starters.

Johnson’s won his first MLGT Title on May 5, 2010 at Hammock Creek GC in Palm City.

Mike Adamson of Waynesburg, PA tied for second place with Kyle Willmann of Edmund, OK at 5-under par 67 follow by Derrick Bohannon of Shelbyville, KY with 69 in fourth and Brandon Smith of West Palm Beach in fifth place with 70.

The MLGT takes a two-week summer break after two tournaments next week: Tuesday and Wednesday, Ironhorse CC, West Palm Beach, and Friday, Fountains CC, Lake Worth. Play will resume July 11 at The Wanderers Club in Wellington.

There was $150 in the skins pot with 4 skins out worth $37.50 each.
#3 - Brandon Smith
#7 - A.J. Gerlach
#8 - Matt Springer (Eagle)
#17 - Mike Adamson

Event Details

Start: 6/17/2011
Rounds: 1

Players: 24
Entry: $170
Purse: $2928.02

Event Photos

66 - David Johnson - $680

The Champions Club
3400 SE Summerfield Way
Stuart, FL  34997

(772) 283-1500

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
66David Johnson1$680.00
67Kyle WillmannT2$470.00
67Mike AdamsonT2$470.00
69Derrick Bohannon4$320.00
70Brandon Smith (a)5$250.00
71Jason GoodendorfT6$145.34
71Matt SpringerT6$145.34
71Greg O'MahonyT6$145.34
73Bobby CollinsT9$90.00
73AJ GerlachT9$90.00
74Hector ZapataT11$61.00
74Jon McLeanT11$61.00
75Will ColemanT13$0.00
75Chris PeddicordT13$0.00
76Ben HartmanT15$0.00
76Tim TurpenT15$0.00
76Jimmy GascoigneT15$0.00
76Alexandre De Gunzburg T15$0.00
76Nick MacDonaldT15$0.00
77John Van Wart20$0.00
78Allie Bodemann21$0.00
80James Field, Jr T22$0.00
80Dustin WallisT22$0.00

© 2004-2022 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved