Will Coleman birdies 1st extra hole to beat David Smith
Both players shot 69, five players tied for third at 70
Tuesday, August 9, 2011

WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. – Will Coleman of Kensington, Md., who has played regularly on the Fuzion-Minor League Golf Tour since last November, earned his first victory Tuesday by sinking a 35-foot birdie putt on the first hole of a playoff at Ironhorse Country Club.

Coleman outlasted David Smith of Ruston, La., after they had tied at two under par 69. After Coleman sank his birdie putt at the par-4 first hole, Smith missed his from about 18 feet. Each had birdied the par-5 18th hole in regulation. Smith also birdied the par-4 17th. Overall, Coleman had four birdies and two bogeys, Smith four birdies and a double bogey.

The MLGT’s 82nd tournament of the year drew only 12 starters, the smallest field since there were eight for an event in May, 2010. Coleman received $550 from the $1,560 purse. Smith, who has four career MLGT titles, earned $375.

Two special events are scheduled over the next two weeks, a match play tournament Aug. 15-18 at Indian Spring CC, Boynton Beach, and the 54-hole Sunshine State Classic Aug. 24-26 at Fountains CC, Lake Worth. Two regular 18-hole tourneys are also on the schedule: Aug. 18 at Indian Spring and Aug. 22 at PGA National, Squire course.

There was $40 in the skins pot with 7 skins out worth $5.72 each.
#1, #13 (Par), #15 - Scott Turner
#2, #4 - Jared Fishman
#8, #14 (Eagle) - Tim Turpen

Grip Shield Summer Classic

Grip Shied keeps your hands, wrists and forearms from sweating. Samples available at check-in. Save $4 off a $9.95 bottle, click event link for details

Event Details

Start: 8/9/2011
Rounds: 1

Players: 12
Entry: $180
Purse: $1560

Event Photos

69 - Will Coleman - $550 *First win on the FuZion MLGT

8055 Ironhorse Blvd
West Palm Beach, FL  33412

(561) 624-5551

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
69Will Coleman1$550.00
69David M. Smith2$375.00
70Tim TurpenT3$127.00
70Jacob KorbT3$127.00
70Wayne De HaasT3$127.00
70David JohnsonT3$127.00
70Scott Turner (a)T3$127.00
71Jared Fishman8$0.00
73Steven Rist9$0.00
75Vince Alessi10$0.00
78Ryan LefevreT11$0.00
78Adam Murchison T11$0.00

© 2004-2024 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved