Sunny Kim wins playoff over Steve LeBrun
Alexis Thompson ties for third with Sandro Piaget and Matt Hill
Monday, January 23, 2012

CORAL SPRINGS, Fla. – Sunny Kim of Palm Beach Gardens parred the first extra hole Monday for his 15th victory on the Tour. Kim outlasted Steve LeBrun of West Palm Beach after they tied at four under par 68 at the TPC at Eagle Trace.

In regulation, Kim made five birdies and a bogey, LeBrun seven birdies and three bogeys. In the playoff which started at the par-3 17th hole, Kim two-putted from 14 feet behind the cup for the win, earning $1,000 from the $7,870 purse. LeBrun had hit his tee ball over the green, chipped back but missed his par putt from eight feet.

LeBrun, second among 65 starters, the largest field of the Golfslinger’s ninth season, received $650. He holds the Golfslinger record with 37 career victories and late last year he earned fully exempt status on the Nationwide Tour for 2012.

Teenager Alexis Thompson, who last year became the youngest player to win on both the American and European women’s tours, tuned up with a two under par 70 Monday, tied for third. Brother Nick Thompson was three more back at 73, tied for eighth. The men played the course at about 7,000 yards, Alexis Thompson at 6,800 yards.

The Golfslinger Tour has played seven tournaments this year and has two to go this month: Wednesday-Thursday, Champions Club, Stuart, and Monday, Binks Forest, Wellington.

There was $320 in the skins pot with 5 skins out worth $64 each.

4- Frank Dully (Eagle)
9- Eddie Gardino
14- Kent Graham
17- Mark Brown
18- Alexis Thompson

Event Details

Start: 1/23/2012
Rounds: 1

Players: 65
Entry: $200
Purse: $7870.02

Event Photos

68 - Sunny Kim - $1,000* won on first playoff hole

Eagle Trace Golf Club
1111 Eagle Trace Blvd
Coral Springs, FL  33071

(954) 753-7222

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
68Sunny Kim1$1,000.00
68Steve LeBrun2$650.00
70Sandro Piaget T3$508.34
70Lexi ThompsonT3$508.34
70Matt HillT3$508.34
71Alfredo Adrian6$400.00
72Frank Dully7$375.00
73Eric BeringerT8$270.00
73Nick KenneyT8$270.00
73Jordan HolleyT8$270.00
73Devin KayT8$270.00
73Nicholas ThompsonT8$270.00
73Rick PriceT8$270.00
73Christian De GreiffT8$270.00
74Pat SteffesT15$178.00
74Pierre-Henri SoeroT15$178.00
74Jude EustaquioT15$178.00
74Brandon Smith (a)T15$178.00
74Jimmy LytleT15$178.00
75Marty StanovichT20$92.50
75Jeff IvallT20$92.50
75Jason Trout T20$92.50
75Jeff BronkemaT20$92.50
75Brian Janty T20$92.50
75Julien GouletT20$92.50
76Matt BallT26$77.00
76Brandon WhiteT26$77.00
76Chris DamianoT26$77.00
76Tim TurpenT26$77.00
77Steve DeschenesT30$71.00
77Brian FriederichsT30$71.00
78John HaightT32$67.50
78Mike FieldT32$67.50
79Mike LarkinT34$0.00
79TJ RobertsT34$0.00
79AJ GerlachT34$0.00
79John VionT34$0.00
79Mark A. BrownT34$0.00
79Geoffrey Newman T34$0.00
79Matt OllsonT34$0.00
79Frank McAuliffe IVT34$0.00
79Brian AlbertazziT34$0.00
79Kent GrahamT34$0.00
80Greg EtimosT44$0.00
80Adam Murchison T44$0.00
80Chase CarrollT44$0.00
81Rushi OzaT47$0.00
81Javier James T47$0.00
81David BoucherT47$0.00
82Steven DalyT50$0.00
82Chris McIntoshT50$0.00
83Eric Lilleboe52$0.00
84Eddie GardinoT53$0.00
84Jason HoganT53$0.00
84Pat ElberT53$0.00
84Sean Schwartz T53$0.00
84Stevenson Clarke (a)T53$0.00
85Dave HilgersT58$0.00
85Chris McLaughlinT58$0.00
86Michael Capolongo60$0.00
88Kyle O'Neill61$0.00
94Mustapha Assorhani62$0.00
NCNicholas CannellaT63$0.00
NCNate EatonT63$0.00
NCWill Portfolio (a)T63$0.00

© 2004-2024 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved