Joe Shaktman & Devin Kay Playoff for first GOLFslinger Tour win
Shaktman wins on 2nd extra hole, Kay made hole-in-one
Wednesday, May 23, 2012

HOLLYWOOD, Fla. – Joe Shaktman of Coral Springs two-putted for par from 20 feet on the fourth extra hole Tuesday to earn his first victory on the Tour. Shaktman, 55, outlasted Devin Kay, 25, of Potomac, Md., after they tied at four under par 68 at the Club at Emerald Hills.

After they halved the first hole with par-5s, the ninth with bogey-5s and the 10th with par-4s, Shaktman won when Kay missed a six-foot par putt after missing the green to the left and chipping on with his third shot. Kay was also looking for his first win. This was his fourth runnerup finish this year, his seventh since joining Golfslinger in July, 2010. Shaktman has been playing the tour off-and-on since June, 2006.

In regulation, Shaktman had three birdies and a bogey on each nine and earned $1,000 from the $4,335 purse. Kay, second among 33 starters, received $550. He aced the 160-yard sixth hole with a 7-iron and made seven birdies, three bogeys and a double bogey.

In a separate competition, Alfredo Adrian of Sunrise and Venezuela clinched a $1,000 bonus to be used toward his entry fee for a Monday qualifier on the PGA Tour or Nationwide Tour event later this year. He was the leading money with $3,660 for five tournaments since May 14. He won two of the first four to clinch the bonus and will not play in the finale Thursday at the Links @ Madison Green, opting for a special tourney this weekend in Mexico. Previous bonus winners were Matt Springer and Ben Silverman.

There was $150 in the skins pot with 8 skins out worth $18.75 each.
3,10- Joe Shaktman
4,13- Scott Marino
7- Mateo Jimenez
8- Tawit Polthai
11- Stephen Derminio
17- Martin Vikstrom

Event Details

Start: 5/22/2012
Rounds: 1

Players: 33
Entry: $200
Purse: $4335.02

Event Photos

68 - Joe Shaktman - $1,000* first win on the GolfSlinger.comTour

The Club at Emerald Hills
4100 N. Hills Drive
Hollywood, FL  33021

(954) 961-4000

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
68Joe Shaktman (a)1$1,000.00
68Devin Kay2$550.00
70Scott Marino3$475.00
72Tawit PolthaiT4$308.34
72Tim CantwellT4$308.34
72Adam AdamsT4$308.34
73Stephen Derminio7$225.00
74Mateo F. JimenezT8$160.00
74Ben SilvermanT8$160.00
74Alfredo AdrianT8$160.00
74Pierre-Henri SoeroT8$160.00
74Michael CapolongoT8$160.00
75Craig HicksT13$73.25
75Alejandro GarmendiaT13$73.25
75Joachim AltonenT13$73.25
75Jason Burstyn T13$73.25
76Mike McMahonT17$16.75
76Matt SpringerT17$16.75
76Marcelo Jakubovic (a)T17$16.75
76Will ColemanT17$16.75
77Tim TurpenT21$0.00
77Carlos VelezT21$0.00
79Victor LeoniT23$0.00
79Trevor SahnT23$0.00
79Hector ZapataT23$0.00
79Fernando FigueroaT23$0.00
81David Schuster27$0.00
82David M. Smith28$0.00
83Nico Evangelista (a)29$0.00
85Kristaps Gulbis (a)T30$0.00
85Pat ElberT30$0.00
NCMartin Vikstrom33$0.00

© 2004-2024 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved