Tyler Stachkunas wins the 2023 Justin Fonseca Memorial Tournament
Aaron Wilson was awarded the Justin Fonseca Sportsmanship Award
Monday, December 4, 2023

WELLINGTON, Fla. - Tyler Stachkunas from Lake Worth, FL birdied the 1st playoff hole to earn his 3rd win on the MLGT. Tyler and Brett Stegmaier tied in regulation at 5-under par 67. Both men came to the final hole in regulation at -6 and made bogey. Stachkunas earned $1,446.84 which includes bonus pool and skin money. Stegmaier earned $873.50.

Earlier in the round Tyler made a hole in one on the 192 yard par-3 7th with a 7 iron!

Click here to watch Tyler birdie the 1st playoff hole for the win

Today's tournament was about more that golf. This event honored the late Justin Fonseca, who played four winter seasons on the Minor League Golf Tour. He was 27 when he died in an automobile accident in June, 2014. He worked at Island Hills Country Club during the summer months to save up enough money to pursue his dream of playing golf professionally in the winter.

The Minor League Golf Tour created the Justin Fonseca Sportsmanship Award in 2016 to honor a Tour member that embodies the love of the game and competition in a classy way just like Justin did. We are honored to name Aaron Wilson the 8th recipient of this award. Aaron grew up in Shakopee, MN. He played his collegiate golf at Palm Beach Atlantic University. Aaron has won on both the amateur and professional level but he’s winning this award not for his playing accomplishments but for how he carries himself both on and off the course. He is a consummate professional in every sense. He embodies the same love for the game and great attitude that Justin had. Congratulations Aaron and keep being a good role model.

Past winners of this award include Charlie Harrison (2016), Max Buckley (2017), Mike Miller (2018), Jamie Sindelar (2019), Luke Graboyes (2020), Olin Browne Jr. (2021) and Patrick Allgeier (2022).

Along with the award, Aaron won a free entry into this event courtesy of the Fonseca family.

Peter Fonseca and Aaron Wilson

Peter Fonseca and Aaron Wilson.

JF tour towel

Every player received a special Justin Fonseca tour towel courtesy of the Fonseca family.

There were closest to the pin contest's on all of the par 3's along with a long drive contest on #12. Prizes were provided by the Fonseca family

CTP #3 - Carson Klawonn 5' - MLGT Alignment sticks and cover
CTP #7 - Tyler Stachkunas HOLE IN ONE - MLGT Headcover
CTP #13 - Michael Sweeney 2' 2" - MLGT Towel and Water Bottle
CTP #16 - Ryan Celano 6" - MLGT Headcover
Long Drive #12 - Logan Stachkunas - MLGT Yardage Book Cover

9th Annual Justin Fonseca Memorial Tournament

40% of the field earns a check. Click here to learn more about Justin Fonseca.

Every player will receive a special Justin Fonseca tour towel for playing in the event courtesy of the Fonseca family. There will also be closest to the pin and long drive contests during the event.

Event Details

Start: 12/4/2023
Rounds: 1

Players: 49
Entry: $220
Purse: $7046

Event Photos

67 - Tyler Stachkunas - $1,100 *Birdied First Playoff Hole

Wellington National Golf Club
400 Binks Forest Drive
Wellington, FL  33414

(561) 333-5731

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount Total
67 Tyler Stachkunas1 $1,100.00$1,446.84
67 Brett Stegmaier2 $700.00$873.50
68 Carson Klawonn3 $610.00$610.00
69 Ryan Davis4 $555.00$555.00
70 Timmy WidemanT5 $475.00$475.00
70 Kenny Hess T5 $475.00$475.00
71 Ryder SutcliffeT7 $302.00$475.34
71 Nicklas StaubT7 $302.00$475.34
71 Isaiah Logue T7 $302.00$302.00
71 Charles ChonT7 $302.00$302.00
71 Dawson JonesT7 $302.00$355.00
71 Joey Harrigan T7 $302.00$302.00
71 Scott Mann (a)T7 $302.00$302.00
72 Bennett Masterson (a) T14 $152.00$152.00
72 Jordan BaileyT14 $152.00$152.00
72 William HartfordT14 $152.00$152.00
72 Danny DanielsT14 $152.00$152.00
72 Raoul MenardT14 $152.00$152.00
72 Ryan Celano T14 $152.00$152.00
73 Gavin HallT20 $15.00$15.00
73 Daniel ObremskiT20 $15.00$15.00
73 Aaron Wilson T20 $15.00$15.00
73 Jeffrey Cunningham T20 $15.00$15.00
73 Michael Sweeney T20 $15.00$15.00
73 Lukas ClarkT20 $15.00$15.00
73 Andres Atrio (a)T20 $15.00$15.00
74 Brandon Lacasse $0.00$0.00
75 Taylor Kay-Green $0.00$0.00
75 Anton Hansson $0.00$0.00
75 Jake Brown $0.00$0.00
75 Giuseppe Puebla (a) $0.00$0.00
76 Cameron Willis $0.00$0.00
76 Nicholas Dilio $0.00$0.00
76 Timothy Umphrey $0.00$0.00
77 Jake Snelgrove $0.00$0.00
78 Garrett Willis $0.00$0.00
78 Wesley Modica $0.00$0.00
79 Natthawat Sakchawanpob (a) $0.00$0.00
79 Matt Gallant $0.00$0.00
80 Janelle Johnson $0.00$0.00
80 Sasha Lobel $0.00$0.00
80 Rory Bain (a) $0.00$0.00
83 Jamie Freedman (a) $0.00$0.00
85 Mackenzie Welch $0.00$0.00
DNFTyler Ling $0.00$0.00
DNFJackson Buccigross $0.00$0.00

© 2004-2024 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved