Jon McLean Captures January Quest Event 3 by a shot over Lytle
His win secures the 1st of 5 PGA Tour Q-School Entry Fees to be awarded by the MLGT / Quest in 2010
Friday, January 29, 2010

LAKE WORTH, Fla. – Jon McLean of Weston swept honors Friday in a Quest division tournament staged by the Minor League Golf Tour at Fountains Country Club. He totaled 17 under par 199 on the South course with rounds of 68-66-65, scoring an eagle, 19 birdies and four bogeys in 54 holes.

Playing in the final group with McLean, 2008 Minor League Golf Tour Champion and 2009 leading money winner Jimmy Lytle shot 30 on the back nine to finish a shot back, picking up $3,300 for his effort.

McLean earned $6,200 from the $31,875 purse, both being record figures for the MLGT. This was the 578th tournament since the mini-tour began in August 2004.

It also was McLean’s second victory in the 3 event January Quest Series, giving him $10,837.50 to lead the final series money list and win the January Q-School Contest.

Hence, his entry fee of $4,500 into the PGA Tour national qualifying tournament in the fall will be paid by the MLGT. McLean earned $4,000 for his Quest victory Jan. 13 at Abacoa which was his first as a professional.

$290 in the Skins Pot, 2 skins worth $145 each. Martin Catalioto eagled the par-5 fifth hole and Scott Ford made eagle on the par-5 fifteenth hole.

Event Details

Start: 1/29/2010
Rounds: 3

Players: 51
Entry: $900
Purse: $31875

Event Photos

199 - Jon McLean (68-66-65) - $6,200* won Q-School Contest

Fountains Country Club - Old West Course
4615 Fountains Drive
Lake Worth, FL  33467

(561) 642-2700

View Scorecard

Tournament Results Scoring Details

Score Player Amount
199 (68-66-65)Jon McLean1$6,200.00
200 (70-64-66)Jimmy Lytle2$3,300.00
201 (68-65-68)Martin Catalioto3$2,635.00
202 (66-68-68)Derek Fathauer4$2,200.00
206 (70-67-69)Derrick Bohannon5$1,940.00
207 (73-67-67)Piri Borja6$1,800.00
208 (67-69-72)Brett Macias (a)T7$1,550.00
208 (70-69-69)Sunny KimT7$1,550.00
208 (73-68-67)Jimmy HazenT7$1,550.00
208 (73-69-66)Jeremy PopeT7$1,550.00
209 (71-67-71)Brian Lamberti11$1,300.00
210 (67-70-73)Steve LeBrunT12$1,175.00
210 (72-69-69)Scott FordT12$1,175.00
211 (69-70-72)Brian AndersonT14$987.50
211 (74-69-68)Scott BerlinerT14$987.50
211 (74-70-67)Pierre-Henri SoeroT14$987.50
211 (75-67-69)Sal SpalloneT14$987.50

© 2004-2024 Minor League Golf Tour, All Rights Reserved